top of page

Hope in God



"Why, my soul, are you so dejected?

Why are you in such turmoil?

Put your hope in God, for I will still praise him,

my Savior and my God."

(Psalm 43:5 CSB)

WHY are there times when my soul does not match my heart?

Why such disparity within myself?

Even now I see the effects of sin.

Even in my own redemption, I see the fracture sin has caused within God's creation as a microcosm of my current experience.

My heart finds my soul writhing in the abyss of depression, doubt, and despair. Along with David I ask, "Why are you cast down, Soul? Why are you in such turmoil?"

Being made in the image of The Triune God, I have a tri-part constitution; body, soul, and spirit.

Being fallen that image is fractured and subjected to further decay. In that way I am very much unlike Him as there is no unity within.

Being redeemed by His grace that which was once dead, He has made alive. I am being sanctified, remade in the image of the perfect Adam - Jesus.

Being born of God and still in this fallen flesh there are incongruities that occur. Paul said, “For the flesh desires what is against the Spirit, and the Spirit desires what is against the flesh; these are opposed to each other, so that you don’t do what you want.” This is why there are times when my soul does not match my heart.


WHEN there are times that my soul does not match my heart, what am I to do? David finding himself in this very situation, shares with me what I am to do. Understanding the principle of why I experience this is important; but the specifics of the particular instance of my turmoil is not of any real consequence for it doesn't change the solution. To stare deeper into the abyss does nothing but permit me to sink further into despair. David asks his soul “why” yet doesn’t await a response, he proceeds to directing his soul to Hope. As David did, so must I. It is in this dejected state that my heart compassionately addresses my mind with exhortations to wait upon God. My spirit reminds my soul of the promises made by The God Who keeps Covenant. I long for Shalom Shalom - complete wholeness, perfect peace. This is what God promises, “You keep him in perfect peace [Shalom Shalom] whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.”


The mind must be stayed on God.


WHILE my heart is directing my soul to look to Jesus, my hear also praises Him. As my heart exalts Jesus my mind also direct it’s gaze to The Son of God. As it does, my thoughts become full of Him. Like sinking Peter in the storm, Jesus lifts me above the waves that threaten to drown me. They were never truly a threat. I was walking on them before I began sinking. I noticed their presence, was beginning to sink into despair at the sight of their peril and uncertainty; but praise to my Father who has given me a new heart that cries out to Him when I am overwhelmed. A heart that directs my soul to my Savior and my God - Jesus - the One who lifts me above the peril and walks with me over it. The One who even then, lovingly calls me to hope in Him - “Why did you doubt?”


So hear Piper echo David - “If you wake up feeling fragile, remember that God is not, and then trust Him to be everything you need today.”

Hear Parsons echo David - “Don’t let your feelings inform your doctrine, make your doctrine inform your feelings.”

Hear David - “Why, my soul, are you so dejected? Why are you in such turmoil? Put your hope in God, for I will still praise him, my Savior and my God.”

bottom of page